Updating desktop

If you have not done so already, make Windows display the hidden files and folders. To do that, start Windows Task Manager (by, for example, right-clicking on an empty space of Windows taskbar and selecting Start Task Manager from the menu).

To do so, choose the Folder options command from the Tools menu of AB Commander (or open it from Windows Control Panel), select the View tab, and change the option: If you don't like Windows displaying the hidden files and folder, you can change this option back after completing the steps below. Use AB Commander to navigate to the folder where the Icon file is located (see above for the possible locations): (If you have just enabled the Show hidden files option, you may need to press F5 in AB Commander to refresh is window and make the hidden files and folders to appear in the file listings.) Delete the Icon file, and keep AB Commander window open, do not close or minimize it, you will need it a bit later. Select the Processes tab and right-click on in the list. To do that, switch to AB Commander window, enter explorer in its launch box, and press OK: Take control of your files and folders with Purchase or download a free trial. (You could also start Explorer using the File - New Task (Run) command of Windows Task Manager.) Your desktop icons should be back.

updating desktop-67

Note: Unlike other folders in Dropbox, the ".dropbox.cache" folder should have a red X on it—this folder does not need to sync.

If you've verified that antivirus or security software is not interfering with your sync process, move on to step 13.

Fix: If the Desktop icon is grey, then there are two possible explanations: either you're not connected to the internet, or else Dropbox isn't set to run at startup.

To set apps to run at startup, see instructions for your specific operating system.

If you've verified that both your device and your Dropbox account have enough available space, move on to step 10.

Fix: Add the Dropbox cache folder to an ignore list on your security/antivirus software. Once synced, you should no longer see these warnings or quarantine messages.Apple assumes no responsibility with regard to the selection, performance, or use of third-party websites or products. Other company and product names may be trademarks of their respective owners.Apple makes no representations regarding third-party website accuracy or reliability. Updates installed in the last 30 days appear below this list.Information about products not manufactured by Apple, or independent websites not controlled or tested by Apple, is provided without recommendation or endorsement.However, deleting this file is tricky: it turns out that Windows keeps a copy of this file in the RAM memory, and if you delete it, with will create a new copy of this file from it's RAM copy, without refreshing the icon images!

Tags: , ,